• 12/2011-12/2012, Fellow, Pain Medicine, Stanford University School of Medicine, Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative & Pain Medicine Honors/Awards: Chief Fellow, 6/2012-12/2012
  • 08/2008-08/2011, Resident, Anesthesia, Massachusetts General Hospital | Harvard Medical School, Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care & Pain Medicine
  • 06/2007-06/2008, Intern, Internal Medicine, Hahnemann University Hospital | Drexel University College of Medicine, Department of Medicine
  • 08/2003-05/2007, M.D., Temple University School of Medicine Honors/Awards: Dean’s Endowed Medical Scholarship, Class of 1969 Scholarship, American Academy of Neurology Scholarship to Annual Meeting, Multiple Course and Rotation Honors
  • 08/1999-05/2003, B.S., University of Maryland—College Park, Psychology (Honors Program) Honors/Awards: Summa Cum Laude, Psychology with Honors Graduate, Mark S. Harper Award for Excellence in Psychology
  • Licensure and Certification:

    • ABA Pain Medicine Board Certification
    • ABA Anesthesiology Board Certification


    • 2021 Quarter 4, Quality and Safety Innovation Award—Teamwork, Communication and Safety Climate, Department of Anesthesiology, Alameda Health System.
    • 2021 Quarter 1 (Inaugural), Quality and Safety Innovation Award—Controlled Substance Discrepancy Management, Departments of Anesthesiology and Pharmacy, Alameda Health System.
    • California Health and Human Services Agency / Cal Hospital Compare 2020 Opioid Care Honor Roll and Maternity Care Honor Roll for Highland Hospital
    • American Academy of Pain Medicine (AAPM) 2017 Pain Medicine Fellowship Excellence Award for Stanford University School of Medicine
    • AAPM 2017 Annual Meeting Scientific Poster Abstract Winner: Newmark JL “Use of Simulation and Immersive Learning to Teach Safe Opioid Prescribing”
    • Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award, 2016. Division of Pain Medicine. Department of Anesthesiology, Pain & Perioperative Medicine, Stanford University School of Medicine.
    • 2013-2014, Scholar, Teaching Scholars Program, Department of Anesthesiology, Pain & Perioperative Medicine, Stanford University School of Medicine

    Read more